• President's Message

    It is with hope and anticipation that I proudly fill the role of Board President for the Bellflower Unified School District.  As a Lakewood resident and a BUSD parent, I am personally connected to our district. 

    The District is committed to enhancing the opportunities for our students.  We will continue to support classroom programs that provide enriching and engaging opportunities for students to meet the expectations of the California Standards for academic learning and college and career readiness. The District will continue to ensure all students have the materials and opportunities to participate in well-rounded educational program.  

    The District currently serves students who reside within an eight square mile area of southeast Los Angeles County, which includes most of Bellflower, a large portion of Lakewood and a small portion of Cerritos.  We have a diverse student population of approximately 12,000 PreK-12 students.  Students attend one of our 10 K-6 grade elementary schools, two 7-12 grade secondary schools, 1 continuation school or our home education/independent study program. Our district has been designated a Gold Ribbon School District. Several of our schools have been recognized as Gold Ribbon Schools, three have been honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools, two are Title I Achievement Schools, and a model continuation school. 

    We are committed to ensuring every student has a safe, secure place to learn, and continue to support social emotional learning programs and Positive Behavior, Interventions and Supports (PBIS), while maintaining high expectations for student behavior.  We will continue to maintain and the high standards we have set for the maintenance, renovation, and upkeep of our facilities.  The community’s support of the Measure BB bond continues to support these efforts-Thank you. 

    Bellflower Unified has a long history of great accomplishments and as a team we will continue to excel in our services to students and support the community as we move into the new year.


    Laura Sanchez Ramirez

    Board President


School Board President Jerry Cleveland